Washington State Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf

WSRID Committees

Over the past 50 years, the members of WSRID have formed and committed to numerous activities and causes. Sometimes these efforts resulted in a WSRID committee, a special interest group, or a community task force. Thank you to all who have donated their time and energy to these efforts! The current committee list is representative of the work being held by the board and members. We need your support and we are always seeking new ways to support our membership and our communities. Please consider how you can support WSRID with your time, skills, and ideas!

If you are passionate about a specific topic or cause and want to learn more about forming a committee or special interest group, please contact the Governance Committee for support and guidance.

Budget Committee

Coordinator: Paula Bazinet

Members: Claudia Kienholz

Liaison: Mark Hoshi

Focus: The budget committee prepares and monitors the annual budget, reviews quarterly financial reports, and makes financial recommendations to the board.

Contact Budget Committee

Budget Committee Page

Certificate Maintenance Program (CMP)/CEUs

Administrator: Ashley Cavallaro

Members: Needs members!

Liaison: Kristin Deverin & Anna Mansell-Karagiannis

Focus: The WSRID CMP committee works to support the interpreting community’s continuing education goals by processing CEUs for both RID-sponsored activities and PINRAs. WSRID was recently approved as a RID-CMP sponsor and we are  launching a pilot program offering some complimentary services to WSRID members. To learn more, visit the CMP Committee page using the link below.

If you have questions about RID's requirements for continuing education/certification maintenance, would like to request processing for CEUS, or want to support the committee work, please contact us!

Contact CMP Administrator

CMP Committee Page

Communications Committee

Coordinator: Elizabeth Bass


Liaison: Anna Mansell-Karagiannis

Focus:  The communications committee works to maintain the WSRID website, work with the President and other committee coordinators to send quarterly reports and WSRID related event information to the membership, and to forward professional development and community news to subscribers of the WSRID List Serve.

Contact Communications Committee

Communications Committee Page

Conference Committee 2025


Members: Gabby Hopkinson, Rhesa Durgin, & Rogan Shannon

Liaison: Krystal Sanders

Focus: The conference committee is responsible for the planning of the next conference.

Contact Conference Committee

Conference Committee Page

Community Outreach Committee



Liaison: Gabby Hopkinson & Rogan Shannon

Focus: The outreach committee is responsible to coordinate and assist efforts to serve and support the communities in which members engage.

Contact Community Outreach Committee

Community Outreach Committee Page

DEI Audit Committee


Members: Needs Members

Board Liaisons: Claudia Kienholz

Focus: The DEI Audit Committee will review and provide counsel on WSRID governance and activities to support.

Contact DEI Audit Committee

DEI Audit Committee Page

Governance Committee



Liaison: Anna Mansell-Karagiannis, Claudia Kienholz, & Rogan Shannon

Focus: This committee reviews all governing documents and proposes revisions as needed, monitors compliance with state law, and coordinates nominations and election of board members.

Contact Governance Committee

Governance Committee Page

Membership Committee



Liaison: Claudia Kienholz & Rhesa Durgin

Focus: The membership committee will actively reach out and engage with members, assess member needs and interests to strengthen the interpreting field, and support preparation for the annual membership meeting.

Contact Membership Committee

Membership Committee Page

Professional Development Committee (PDC)

Coordinator: Coordinators Needed!

Members: Currently inactive — Members needed!

Liaison: Kristin Deverin

Focus: The professional development committee coordinates PD activities for WSRID members. PD activities may be workshops (online or in-person), professional meet-ups, or sharing CEU and learning opportunities from other organizations to the communications coordinator.

Contact PDC Committee

PDC Committee Page

Scholarship Committee

Coordinator: Madison Chester


Liaison: Rhesa Durgin

Focus: The scholarship committee is responsible for administering the funds for WSRID scholarship recipients who are taking performance examinations through RID (CDI or NIC) or Boys Town's (EIPA). The committee also advises the board on the application process, communicates with awardees, and creates relevant announcements when needed.

Contact Scholarship Committee

Scholarship Committee Page

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software